Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » Question on Changing Fields at the EUL Level
Question on Changing Fields at the EUL Level [message #145059] Mon, 31 October 2005 12:21 Go to next message
sbattisti
I'm pretty new to Discoverer. We use Discoverer 4i over Oracle 11.5.9. Last week I posted a simple question about using a function to convert a varchar field into a date using TO_DATE (http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/54251/72126/).

Today, I heard someone mentioning that there may be some way to modify this field at the End User Layer level, so that any time someone selects this field in a Discoverer report, it would automatically apply that calcuation.

This would eliminate the need for people writing reports to remember and perform the TO_DATE calculation when selecting this field.

However, I'm completely ignorant as to how this could be done, and where I could get more information. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks very much,

Steve Battisti
Re: Question on Changing Fields at the EUL Level [message #146627 is a reply to message #145059] Fri, 11 November 2005 11:02 Go to previous messageGo to next message
skooman
Steve,

Why not ask the one that mentioned this? Wink

What I think was meant, is that you can create a calculation in the EUL (contents something like "your_date_function(original_varchar_value)"). Than rename the original item and make it invisible. Rename your new calculation to the name the item had -> all users use your function whithout realizing it.

Regards,
Sabine
Re: Question on Changing Fields at the EUL Level [message #146682 is a reply to message #145059] Sat, 12 November 2005 04:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
yogeshp

sbattisti,

I posted my query a 2 days back. can you solve my query?
I am connecting succesfully to database through oracle9i Discoverer Destop [version 9.0.2.0.0].
When I run the new report wizard, I did not get the table lists of the current logged in database user.