Home » Developer & Programmer » Application Express, ORDS & MOD_PLSQL » How to compute "a * b = c"? (Apex 3.2.1, Oracle 10g XE, MS Windows XP SP3, IE7)
How to compute "a * b = c"? [message #459573] Mon, 07 June 2010 03:43 Go to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
I have recently installed Apex 3.2.1, imported an Excel table and Wizard created a sample application which I'm now trying to "improve". Obviously, I'm not very good at it.

On the other hand, I know Oracle Forms. I'm not sure this is an advantage, because certain features are much different from what I'm accustomed to.

Most probably solution of my problem is very simple. This is what I'd like to do: compute "a * b" and put it into "c".

For an illustration, perhaps it is better to post a screenshot of what I have: this is a form (called from an interactive report), that can be used both for modifying existing records, as well as inserting new ones. This is how it looks like in "update" mode:

/forum/fa/7882/0/

As you can see, "Litara * Cijena = Iznos". No problem about it - I created a computation:
- Type = SQL Query
- Computation point = Before Region(s)
- Source (Computation) = select round(:p22_cijena * :p22_litara, 2) from dual

Now, the same form in "insert" mode (which troubles me):

/forum/fa/7883/0/

I'd like the form to "automatically" compute "10 * 5" and put the result into the "iznos" item. But, I don't know how to do that.

Reading the documentation and googling for the solution (I read quite a few OTN Apex Forum discussions), I found out (perhaps I'm wrong, I don't know) that JavaScript is what I need. Unfortunately, I know less than zero about it.

This is the OTN Apex Forum topic I found interesting, so I tried to simulate what they have done.

This is my attempt:
  • In page (it is page 22) HTML Header I wrote this "script" (most probably wrong, but I don't know better):
    <script language="JavaScript">
      function izracunaj_iznos()
        (