Home » Developer & Programmer » Application Express, ORDS & MOD_PLSQL » Automatically generating table ID (Application Express, Windows 7)
icon5.gif  Automatically generating table ID [message #532732] Thu, 24 November 2011 04:51 Go to next message
abarnybox
Hi,

I'm very new to the world of APEX, I know a limited amount of SQL and thats about it in terms of programming...only learnt it last week...so forgive me if this is a veeery stupid question.

I have created a database in Oracle SQL Developer and I've imported it to APEX. I've created a page with a form on for one of the tables (FM_TAXI_REQUEST) which has a primary key (ID) column. Basically I want to keep that 'ID' column hidden on the page but its still a mandatory field, so how do I get APEX to automatically generate an ID Primary Key thing each time the form is filled out?

again sorry if this is easy...I have looked in the tutorial and help thing and stuff but couldn't find it.
Re: Automatically generating table ID [message #532733 is a reply to message #532732] Thu, 24 November 2011 04:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
I prefer use of a sequence. Apex Wizard asks you what kind of a unique identifier generator you want to use: a sequence, a trigger that already exists on a table, or to create a new trigger. As you aren't experienced in Oracle (yet), I believe that a sequence is by far the simplest solution. You'd just create it using
create sequence my_seq;
in SQL Developer and use it in Apex. The same sequence can be used for many tables (i.e. no need to create a new one for every new table's ID column).
Re: Automatically generating table ID [message #532734 is a reply to message #532732] Thu, 24 November 2011 04:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
abarnybox
also, sorry if i'm not using all the proper terminology Razz hope you actually understood what I was saying